The Advantages and Disadvantages of the Internet

 

Hello Everyone…

So recently I was scrolling through the Internet and I realized how great it is. But then I though how dangerous it can be as well. I wanted to share with you guys (as the title says) The Advantages and Disadvantages of the Internet.

Now, because I always love to begin on a high note, I’ll start with the advantages. The Internet is a great source of entertainment. Whether you want to watch Netflix or scroll through YouTube so much that you reach the ‘dark side’, the internet will give you all of these choices to keep you entertained. You can also listen to music (Spotify is my personal fav) anywhere and everywhere you go as long as you have internet.

Another advantage is communication. Have you ever used Skype before? Have you got friends or family overseas that you want to talk to? Then look no further, the internet is allowing you to do these things. If you don’t have these particular communication devices (wow that sounded like mission impossible or something… Sorry) then you can use email or text, only sometimes the people your contacting can take something you say in a different way (I’ll take about that later).

The last advantage that I will be discussing is Education, and yes I know you guys will be saying “The internet doesn’t help your education, in fact it decreases it because it’s a distraction” (which is true but just hear me out). If you ever want to research a definition or topic, the internet is great because it gives you millions of resources in just seconds.

Now onto the negatives (and yes I know that these won’t put anyone off of the internet- nor should it but ya know).

The first negative that I will be discussing is isolation. As amazing as the internet is everyone wants to be on it all the time. People feel pressured that they need to be on the internet all the time to keep up with the trends. This is why the term ‘isolation’ is used.

Another negative is fraud. As trusting you think somebody might be on the internet (suppose there acting like a 17-year-old girl) when behind the screen they could be a 56 (wow that’s a specific number) year old man. Another example is that when you are online shopping and you see a photo of a dress. you buy it and the fabric is all weird, it doesn’t fit you and the pattern is completely different (The struggle is REAL).

The last negative point that I will be discussing is that there is nobody in charge. This means that people can post whatever they want and whenever they want and nobody can prevent it. An example is Wikipedia, anyone can change it and most of the time it’s all wrong.

I hope that you guys found this post useful

xoxo Authentic Advice

 

Leave a Reply